The 2000's


Senior Hurling League Title and Championship Runners Up

The new millennium brought success to the senior hurlers as they captured their first league title since 1985 and went the entire league season unbeaten.  Banagher who needed a point from their final league game at home to Slaughtneil to clinch the title took both points after a 1-10 to 1-6 victory to secure the Division One League Title.

In the quarter final of the Championship it took an injury time point from Danny McGrellis to save Banagher and snatch a draw against Ballinascreen.  Banagher made no mistake in the replay winning convincingly 1-16 to 0-7.  In the semi-final Banagher again needed a replay to beat Swatragh winning 0-10 to 1-4 in a tight game.

Banagher’s opponents in the championship final at Ballinascreen were Slaughtneil,  It was only Banagher’s third final in nineteen years and hopes were high for a victory, Banagher going into the game unbeaten all season.  However it was to be another day of heartache for Banagher hurlers as Slaughtneil won a tough physical encounter by three points.  Final Score : Banagher 2-8 Slaughtneil 1-14.

Banagher Team : Kieran Stevenson, Damien McLaughlin, Ciaran Cartin, Paddy Cartin, Ryan Lynch, Mickey Cartin, Gregory Simpson, Paddy O’Kane, Peter O’Kane, Paul Cartin, Gregory Biggs (0-3), Gareth Feeney, John O’Dwyer (2-2), Sean McGrellis (0-1), Gary Biggs (0-2).  Subs.  Danny McGrellis, David Hassan, Keith Biggs.



U-14’s Retain Feile na nGael Title


The Under 14 Hurlers retained the Feile na aGael title with a 2-15 to 2-5 win over Ballinascreen in the final.

Banagher Team : Eunan O’Kane, Oisin McCloskey, Conor Lynch, Darren Murphy, Eugene O’Kane, Cathal O’Kane, Darren Murphy, Eugene Lockhart (0-2), Mark Lynch (0-10), Sean McDermott, Joseph Dunton (0-1), Pauric McCloskey, Darragh McCloskey, Ruairi McCloskey (1-2), Jimmy Barry Murphy (1-0).  Subs.  Barry McLaughlin, Gearoid O’Neill, Gavin O’Kane, Eunan O’Kane, Christopher O’Kane, Kieran Guy, Christopher Crossan.



All Ireland Feile na nGael held in Ulster

The 2000 All Ireland Feile na nGael was held in Ulster with matches taking at venues all over Ulster and the finals taking place at Casement Park.  Banagher played host to JK Brackens from Templemore, County Tipperary.  In the group games Banagher lost to JK Brackens and Loughrea of Galway before beating Ballinascreen in the final game.  It was a memorable weekend for the club and the U-14s once again did the club and the county proud.

Derry Hurlers crowned Ulster Champions

Derry Senior Hurlers won their first Ulster Championship in over sixty years beating Antrim in the Ulster final before losing narrowly to Offaly in Croke Park after the greatest display ever, to date, by a Derry hurling team.  For long periods of the game it looked as though Derry were going to cause a major shock and defeat Offaly but it was the Leinster team who eventually ran out winners.  Derry 2-17 Offaly 2-23.  Kieran Stevenson, Gary Biggs, Gregory Biggs, Danny McGrellis and John O’Dwyer all starred for Derry that day.











Footballers Relegated


The senior footballers were relegated from the Premier Division for the second time in eight seasons.  The league had been restructured the previous season which made the top division smaller and unfortunately Banagher could not escape relegation to Division One.

In the championship Banagher faced Castledawson and despite being given very little chance by most experts Banagher, under caretaker managers Sean Martin Lockhart and Ryan Lynch, gave a good account of themselves, almost upsetting the odds, only for Castledawson to eventually win the game narrowly.  Final Score : Banagher 1-3 Castledawson 0-9.

Banagher Team : David Hassan, Damien Hasson, Ryan Lynch, Paul Lynch, Damien McLaughlin, Sean Martin Lockhart, Peter O’Kane, Paul Cartin, Richard O’Kane, James O’Kane, Patrick O’Donnell, Gary Biggs (0-1), Danny McGrellis (1-1), Sean McGrellis (0-1), Gary Lynch,  Subs.  Gregory Biggs, Damien O’Neill.





U-14 Footballers County Champions

The U-14 footballers, under the management of Paul Lynch and Charlie O’Kane, had a tremendous season winning both the North Derry Championship and the County Championship.  In the North Derry Final Banagher defeated neighbours Foreglen by 5-11 to 1-4.

Banagher Team : Sean McDermott, Oisin McCloskey, Micheal Anderson, Brian Murphy, Eugene Lockhart, Ruairi McCloskey, Christopher O’Kane, Conor Lynch (1-0), Conal Anderson (1-0), Stephen O’Kane (0-1), Darren Murphy, Mark Lynch (1-4), Eugene O’Kane (0-5), Jimmy Barry Murphy (2-1) Fergal McKay.

 In the County Final Banagher faced favourites Ballinderry.  The sides were level 0-6 each at half time and in an exciting and tense second half Banagher eventually ran out winners thanks to a fisted goal from Conal Anderson deep into injury time.  Final Score : Banagher 3-7 Ballinderry 1-11.  Mark Lynch and Eugene O’Kane getting the other goals.  This was a great day for the club as it was Banagher’s first underage county football title in twenty five years.


 More Awards for Sean Martin Lockhart

Sean Martin Lockhart added to his vast array of awards by winning the National Football League with Derry and the Railway Cup with Ulster Footballers.  He was also honoured by being named on both the football and hurling Ulster Colleges All Star Teams of the Millennium.