St. Joseph's Banagher

 St Joseph's Banagher 1947 - 1958
 St. Joseph's Banagher affiliated with the North Derry Board in 1947.The team was mainly based in the Carnanbane area. Their first game was against Ervey and was played in the field opposite Mick Mc Closkey's (Dhú)  bungalow. As well as a Senior team St. Joseph's also fielded a Minor and  schoolboy team drawn mainly from Caugh School.
Success came knocking in 1952 when St. Joseph's  Banagher won the Minor Championship and the County Junior Championship. The Minors defeated Ballerin in the North Derry Final and went on to defeat Bellaghy in the County Final while it was Swatragh who were overcome in the County Junior Final played at the present Dungiven field.
The successes of 1952 saw Banagher compete in the North Derry Senior Championship of 1953 but were beaten by Ballerin in the semi-final. That year's final was played at Park before a record attendance when Ballerin and Foreglen contested the Final.
Below is picture of St. Joseph's Banagher County Junior Champions 1952.Back row, l-r: Gerry Stevenson,Eddie Murphy, Tommy Stevenson, Seamus Doran, Laurence Stevenson, Mick Mc Closkey, Jimmy Lynch.
Front row, l-r: Henry Mc Closkey, W.J. Mc Elhinney,, Robert Mulhern, W.J. Mc Closkey, Mac Mc Elhinney,Tommy Murphy, John Mullan, Charlie Hampson. 
St. Joseph
 St. Joseph's Banagher County Minor Champions 1952or
Back row, l-r: Mickey Mulhern, Jim Mullan, Robert Mulhern, Tommy Stevenson, Mickey O'Kane, T.B. Stevenson, Danny Mc Manus, Dermot Nutt.
Front row, l-r: John Hasson, W.J.Mc Elhinney, Mac Mc Elhinney, Tommy Murphy, John Mullan, Mickey O'Neill, John Devine.
Success continued in 1954 when St. Joseph's Banagher defeated Dungiven to win the North Derry Senior Football Championship on a scoreline of 4-4 to 0-7.1955 saw them play in three finals and one semi-final  In the final of the North Derry Championship that year they again defeated Dungiven which saw them through to the semi-final of the County Championship but Newbridge proved too strong. Their second final of 1955 was against local rivals St. Mary's Park in the Dr. Kerlin Cup but they lost 1-3 to 0-8.
Dungiven were their opponents in the final of the Neal Carlin Cup played on the 5th April 1955 with James O'Kane(Park) as referee but the titled eluded St. Joseph's Banagher.
The 1956 season got under way and St. Joseph's Banagher defeated St. Mary's Park in the Neal Carlin Cup Final played at Claudy. On 27th May 1956 St. Joseph's Banagher played Dungiven in the Dr. Kerlin Cup but were beaten 2-4 to 0-7.
Two days later at a meeting of the North Derry Board Banagher Secretary Eddie Murphy informed the meeting that St. Joseph's Banagher  did not have enough players to field a team. This was due to  thirteen of their panel  emigrating half way through the season, coupled with a number of suspensions that had been imposed in previous games.
Despite being represented at a meeting of the Board in February 1957 and being  entered in the draw for the Neal Carlin Cup, there is no refernce to games played so it is assumed that they were unable to fulfill these fixtures.
St. Joseph's Banagher officially re-affiliated with the North Derry Board  on 4th March 1958 when they paid  £1-9-0 in affiliation fees and a fidelity Bond of £3-0-0.At this meeting a number of transfers were granted to St. Joseph's Banagher from Dungiven and Drum - among them Eddie, Sean and Malachy Lowry. They fielded a Minor team that year also.
Despite the efforts of 1958, St. Joseph's Banagher were not represented at any meetings or on the field of play in 1959.

THE PANEL 1946-1958
John Mullan, WJ McElhinney, Mac Mc Elhinney, Mickey Arthur, Robert Mulhern, Harry Carlin, John Farren, Louis Mc Reynolds, Barney Mc Nulty, Mick Mc Closkey, Henry Mc Closkey, James Lynch, Seamus Doran, WJ Mc Closkey, TB Stevenson, WJ Kealey, Patsy Murray, Malachy, Sean and Eddie Lowry, Johnny Stevenson, Willie Stevenson, Jim Mullan, Dermot Nutt, Danny Mc Manus, Tommy Stevenson, John Hasson, Tommy Murphy, Paddy Gillen, Tommy and Brendan Conway, Willie(Eddie) Murphy, Willie(Andy) Murphy, Gerry Stevenson, Patsy Mc Nicholl, Paddy Stevenson, George(Dord) Murphy, Jack Mullan, James Willie Mullan, Mickey O'Neill, George Mc GAGHEY, Laurence Stevenson, WJ Stevenson, John Devine, Charlie Hampson, Mickey O'Kane, Raymond Mc Closkey, Patsy Ward, George(Doy) Murphy, Eddie Murphy, Harry Murphy,James Murphy, and Jeff O'Neill.
 The First Committee
Chairman, Jack Mullan; Secretary, Eddie Murphy; Treasurer, James Muldoon; Harry Murphy, Willie Murphy, Johnny Stevenson,, Willie John Mc Closkey, Pat Mulhern, Frank Farren, Bernie Mc Nulty.

The Club Colours
The Senior team wore a blue jersy with a gold strip while the schoolboys fielded in red.
North Derry League
               P   W   L   D   Pts
1953   10   5   5    0    10
County Players
Players from St. Joseph's Banagher who were called to County duty were T.B. Stevenson and John Mullan
Referee Expenses
St. Joseph's Banagher failed to fulfill a fixture against Coleraine in 1956 and as they had not informed the referee of their intention of cancelling the fixture the North Derry Board ruled that Banagher should pay the expense involved  -   £1-0-0 

 Fidelity Bond
This Bond was a type of deposit paid to the North Derry Board to ensure that fixtures would be played. Failure to fulfil fixtures resulted in deductions being made from the original Bond.


 Minor Protest
St. Joseph's Banagher  Minor team defeated Glack in a Minor Championship game in the summer of 1958 but Glack protested on the basis that no list of players had been given to the referee and that Banagher Minors were one hour late in fielding. The appeal was upheld and Glack was awarded the match.