The 90's‎ > ‎

1992 and 1993


Hard Fought Victory

The senior footballers made a shaky start to the league that year and going into their championship clash with Glenullin were underdogs.  Banagher however, put up a great display that evening in Drumsurn and won the game by four points thanks to the scoring of the Lynch brothers, Mickey and Eamon.  It was a bad tempered game with referee Noel McGurk sending four players off.  Final Score Banagher 0-11 Glenullin 0-7,

Banagher : David Hassan, Damien McLaughlin, Pat McCullagh, Paddy Cartin, Gregory Simpson, Patrick O’Donnell, Eamon Feeney, Mickey Cartin, Kevin Mullan (0-2), Martin McGrellis, Mickey Lynch (0-3), Eamon Lynch (0-4), Charlie O’Kane (0-1), Gregory Biggs, Ryan O’Doherty.

Banagher travelled back to Drumsurn for the quarter final to face Glen.  On the day Glen proved too strong beating Banagher by eight points.

Due to incidents which took place during the championship match with Glenullin the county board suspended both teams from the league and so there was no further football for Banagher that season. 


 All Ireland Hurling Sevens

St Marys Banagher were invited to the prestigious All Ireland Junior Hurling Seven a Side Championship hosted by St Judes Club, Dublin on Saturday 5th September by virtue of winning the Celtic Park Sevens.  The Banagher team acquitted themselves well defeating Shillelagh of Wicklow in their first game before losing narrowly to Bodyke of Clare and Killavilla of Offaly.

The Banagher panel managed by Paddy Murphy was Gerard McCloskey, Mark McDermott, David Hassan, Damien McLaughlin, Mickey Cartin, Paddy Cartin, Gregory Biggs, Danny McGrellis, Gerard McGillion and Gregory Simpson.


Gregory Biggs Profile

Gregory Biggs has been one of the top hurlers in Ulster for the last decade and has consistently been one of Banagher’s top players in both football and hurling for the past fifteen years.

Gregory is the current Derry Senior Hurling Captain and has also captained Ulster Senior Hurlers in the Railway Cup.  He starred for Derry senior hurlers in their two Ulster Championship wins in 2000 and 2001.  Gregory is also an Irish International having played against Scotland in the Hurling/Shinty Compromise Rules Series in 2003.

Gregory has a vast array of Ulster hurling honours including two Ulster Senior Championship medals, two Ulster minor championship medals and an Ulster U-21 championship medal.  Gregory also has an Ulster minor football championship medal.  At club level Gregory has won two County Senior Hurling League Titles, four Intermediate Hurling Championships, two Dr Kerlin Cups, two Division Two Football Leagues and one county minor hurling championship.


1993 was a famous year for Derry football.  It was the year when Derry finally won the Sam Maguire trophy for the first time after beating Donegal in the Ulster Final, Dublin in the All Ireland semi-final and Cork in the All Ireland Final.  However Banagher footballers did not enjoy any success that year, being relegated from Division One for the first time in almost twenty years.



Footballers Relegated


The season had started promisingly for Banagher with wins over Desertmartin and Magherafelt in the Bishops cup before losing to Dungiven at the quarter-final stage.  Banagher also reached the semi-final of the James O’Hagan Cup before losing once again to Dungiven.  A tough championship draw, however, against holders Lavey saw Banagher eliminated in the preliminary round.  Derry’s involvement in the All Ireland meant that the senior league was suspended until October with matches taking place through out the winter.  Such a long drawn out league campaign did not help Banagher who found themselves having to pick up maximum points from their two remaining league games to stay clear of relegation.  A defeat against Magherafelt and a draw with Faughanvale meant that Banagher had to face Ballerin in a relegation play off.

The relegation play off took place at Drumsurn in February 2004 and ended in a draw 1-9 a piece, Banagher being saved thanks to a spectacular goal from Pat McCullagh.  In the replay, however, at a cold and windswept Drumsurn an E.P. Cassidy penalty four minutes from time condemned Banagher to relegation.  Ballerin 1-5 Banagher 0-5.  Despite the disappointment of relegation many observers felt that a season or two in the second division would be beneficial for this young Banagher team.


Another Intermediate Hurling Title

Banagher successfully defended their Intermediate Hurling Title against Na Magha in a tense final played at Drum.  Na Magha looked to be on the verge of their first title until a last minute goal from substitute Mark McDermott clinched the trophy for Banagher amid scenes of wild celebrations.  Final Score :

Banagher 2-7 Na Magha 2-6.

Banagher : Gerard McCloskey, Brian McCloskey, Raymond O’Kane, Sean McWilliams, Gerard McGillion, Mickey Cartin, Paddy Cartin (0-1), Martin McGrellis, Gregory Simpson, Danny McGrellis (0-2), David Hassan, Gary Biggs (1-0), Damien McLaughlin, Gregory Biggs (0-3), Paddy Murphy (0-1).  Subs.  Mark McDermott (1-0), Paddy McGrellis, Dennis Crossan. 


Minor Hurling Champions

The minor hurlers won the first of what was to be three consecutive minor hurling championships that year.  After defeating Drum in the semi-final Banagher travelled to Celtic Park to play Ballinascreen in the final.  Banagher won the game convincingly by 3-14 to 1-4.

Banagher : Kieran Stevenson, Richard O’Kane, Brian McCloskey (0-1), Mark McDermott, Declan Mullan, Damien McLaughlin (0-2), Gareth Feeney, Tony Hasson, Sean Martin Lockhart, Colm Hasson, Gregory Biggs (1-7), Gary Biggs (1-2), Danny McGrellis (1-2), Adrian Feeney, Declan McWilliams.  Subs.  Liam Murphy, Dean Lockhart, Ronan McCullagh, Rory McLaughlin, Eunan McLaughlin, Ciaran Cartin, Gavin McLaughlin.



Brendan Murphy (R.I.P.)

The entire club was shocked and saddened by the tragic death of Brendan Murphy in December 1993.  Brendan was a very popular player within the club and played at half back on the team which won the 1991 Intermediate Hurling Championship.  As a mark of respect the Banagher number seven jersey, which Brendan had worn with such pride and distinction, was retired for the remainder of the season.  Brendan was a great servant to the club and is fondly remembered.  May he rest in peace.














A Second Successive Minor Hurling Title


The minor hurlers retained their championship title thanks to a fine 4-8 to 1-10 victory over Drum with Gary Biggs, Mark McDermott, Danny McGrellis and Richard O’Kane starring.

Senior Hurling Semi-Finalists

The senior hurlers encouraged by winning two Intermediate Championships in a row put together a very impressive league campaign including a fine win over Slaughtneil to reach the top four and therefore qualify for the senior championship.  In the semi-final Banagher were paired with league champions Slaughtneil who proved too strong for a Banagher team that was missing the influential Mickey Cartin.  Slaughtneil went on to beat Lavey in the final that year.  Banagher 0-10 Slaughtneil 5-11.


Banagher : Kieran Stevenson, Brian McCloskey, Raymond O’Kane, Mark McDermott, Gerard McGillion, Marty McGrellis, David Hassan, Paddy Cartin (0-1), Sean McWilliams, Sean Martin Lockhart, Gary Biggs (0-1), Gregory Simpson (0-1), Gregory Biggs (0-7), Ryan O’Doherty, Danny McGrellis.

Ulster U-21 Honours

Derry completed an Ulster Championship double at U-21 level winning both the football and hurling.  David Hassan and Gregory Simpson were on the football team which lost to Meath in the All Ireland semi-final while Gregory Biggs was on the hurling team which lost to Kilkenny after a spirited performance.



Subpages (1): 1994 and 1995