The 90's‎ > ‎1992 and 1993‎ > ‎

1994 and 1995


A Fourth Intermediate Hurling Title

Banagher were back in the Intermediate Hurling Championship this year winning their fourth title after victory over Na Magha in the Final.  Banagher led by 1-5 to 0-4 at half time thanks to a Gregory Biggs scoring burst of 1-2 in five minutes near the end of the half.  In the end Banagher ran out comfortable winners 3-7 to 0-10 with further goals from Sean Martin Lockhart and Dean Lockhart putting the result beyond doubt.  After this fourth Intermediate title Banagher decided that in future years they would set their sights on the Senior title.

Banagher : Kieran Stevenson, Darren Connolly, Raymond O’Kane, Mark McDermott, Martin McGrellis, Gregory Simpson, Sean McWilliams, Gregory Biggs (1-5), Ronan McCullagh, Richard O’Kane, Sean Martin Lockhart (1-1), Gary Biggs (0-1), Dean Lockhart (1-0), Mickey Cartin, Adrian Feeney.  Subs.  Paddy McGrellis, David Hassan, Ciaran Cartin.

 Division Two Football

Banagher did not find Division Two as easy as was expected.  An inconsistent league campaign saw Banagher draw six matches amd meant that they failed to earn promotion back up to Division One.  In the Intermediate Championship Banagher beat favourites Faughanvale in the first round 1-12 to 0-9.  Gary Biggs (1-1), Sean Martin Lockhart (0-5), Charlie O’Kane (0-2), Eamon Lynch (0-2) and Gerard McGillion (0-2) getting the Banagher scores.

In the quarter-final Banagher were beaten by eventual champions Loup 0-13 to 1-7.  David Hassan (1-4), Gary Biggs (0-2) and Eamon Lynch (0-1) scoring.


Dr Kerlin Cup Winners

The senior footballers started their Dr Kerlin Cup campaign with a first round win over neighbours Craigbane after a replay.  In the semi-final Banagher put up a tremendous display to beat favourites Dungiven at Father McNally Park by 0-10 to 1-5.  Gary Biggs (0-3), Eamon Feeney (0-2), Eamon Lynch (0-2), Sean Martin Lockhart (0-1), Richard O’Kane (0-1) and Lenny Feeney (0-1) getting the Banagher points.  In the semi-final Banagher had a comfortable win over Foreglen to set up a final meeting with Glenullin.

The final played on July 16th saw Banagher seeking their first title since 1987.  It proved to be one of the best Kerlin Cup Finals in recent years and eventually ended all square, Banagher 0-13 Glenullin 1-10.  In the replay Banagher bridged an eight year gap to recapture the Dr Kerlin Cup after another memorable hours football.  Final Score.  Banagher 2-11 Glenullin 2-9.  Ryan Lynch was named man of the match that day.

Team & Scorers : Paul Brady, Ryan Lynch, Gregory Simpson (0-1), Damien McLaughlin, Gerard McGillion (0-2), Patrick O’Donnell, Lenny Feeney, Eamon Lynch (1-0), Sean Martin Lockhart (0-1), Eamon Feeney, Richard O’Kane, Ronan McCullagh (1-0), Gary Biggs (0-1).


The footballers were also progressing well in the Intermediate Football Championship, beating Claudy, Foreglen and Glack to reach the final against neighbours Craigbane.  In a closely fought game Craigbane emerged victorious by a single point, 1-8 to 1-7 to deny Banagher their second trophy of the season.


Banagher Team : Paul Brady, Kieran Stevenson, Gregory Simpson, Damien McLaughlin, Gerard McGillion (0-1), Patrick O’Donnell, Lenny Feeney, Richard O’Kane (0-1), Eamon Lynch (0-3), Ryan Lynch, Sean Martin Lockhart, Eamon Feeney (0-1), Charlie O’Kane (0-1), Danny McGrellis (0-1), Gary Biggs.  Subs.  Ronan McCullagh (1-0), Mickey Cartin and Damien O’Neill.




Third Consecutive Minor Hurling Title

Banagher minors going for their third successive title defeated Lavey in the semi-final to set up a final meeting with Drum.  In the final Banagher put in a tremendous performance to win comfortably against a fancied Drum side.  Bangher 4-7 Drum 0-6.  This was a great achievement for Banagher and particularly for managers Raymond O’Kane and Gerard McCloskey.

Banagher : Kieran Stevenson, Darren Connolly, Ciaran Cartin, Paddy O’Kane, Ryan Lynch, Sean Martin Lockhart, Paddy O’Neill, Ronan McCullagh (0-1), Richard O’Kane (1-0), Danny McGrellis (0-1), Gareth Feeney (0-1), Dean Lockhart (1-0), Adrian Feeney, Gary Biggs (2-4), Keith Biggs.



Sean Martin Lockhart received the first of his Ulster Colleges Hurling All Star Awards with St Patricks College, Maghera that year.




Hurling Semi-Final

The senior hurlers went into the championship on the back of a poor league campaign but comfortably beat Na Magha in the quarter final 2-15 to 1-3 thanks to goals from Sean Martin Lockhart and Gerard McGillion.

The semi-final against hot favourites Lavey was played at Glenullin and will always be remembered for the bizarre finish to the game.  With Lavey leading 1-4 to 0-6 points referee Anthony O’Hara blew the full time whistle, only to realise moments later that there was a further eight minutes to play.  Lavey were then told to return from the changing rooms and finish the match.  Banagher’s momentum was broken however and Lavey emerged winners on a final scoreline of Lavey 1-6 Banagher 0-6.

Banagher : Kieran Stevenson, Kieran Kealy, Ciaran Cartin, Barney McGrellis, Gerard McGillion, Gregory Simpson, Darren Connolly, Damien McLaughlin, Ronan McCullagh, Gary Biggs (0-3), Sean Martin Lockhart, Mark McDermott, Sean Brolly, Mickey Cartin (0-1), Dean Lockhart (0-2).  Sub.  Adrian Feeney.


All Ireland Minor Final

Derry minor footballers won the Ulster Championship that year and went all the way to the All Ireland Final before losing narrowly to Westmeath.  Danny McGrellis was a member of the successful Derry squad.



Sean Martin Lockhart and Danny McGrellis also tasted success at College Level winning Ulster Colleges Hurling All Stars with St Patricks College Maghera and McCrory Cup medals with Sean Martin as captain.  Danny also winning a Hogan Cup medal.  Sean Martin Lockhart also won an Ulster Colleges Football All Star to complete an impressive double.