The 90's‎ > ‎

1996 and 1997


Hurlers Make County Final

The senior hurlers, under the management of Raymond O’Kane, made it to their first county final since 1981 after a thrilling victory over Ballinascreen in the semi-final.  Goals from Gregory Biggs and Gareth Feeney sending Banagher through on a final scoreline of Banagher 2-12 Ballinascreen 0-15.

The Final at Slaughtneil on Sunday 18th August was against Kevin Lynchs.  For long periods of the game Banagher controlled possession and the accurate point scoring of Gregory Biggs and a stunning goal from Sean McWilliams looked to have set Banagher on the road to victory.  It wasn’t to be however as a Geoffrey McGonigle inspired Dungiven side eventually won the game by three points.  Final Score : Banagher 1-8 Kevin Lynchs 1-11.  Despite the disappointment of the defeat Banagher had shown that they were more than a match for any side in the county.

Banagher Team : Kieran Stevenson, Kieran Kealey, Martin McGrellis, Gregory Simpson, Gerard McGillion, Sean Martin Lockhart, Darren Connolly, Damien McLaughlin (0-1), Sean McWilliams (1-0), Gary Biggs (0-1), Gregory Biggs (0-4), John O’Dwyer (0-2), Gareth Feeney, Mickey Cartin, Dean Lockhart.  Subs.  Danny McGrellis, Ryan Lynch and Ronan McCullagh.


There was some success on the hurling field that year however, as the minor hurlers were crowned league champions.

Ulster U-21 Championship

Sean Martin Lockhart was a member of the victorious Derry U-21 football team who beat Cavan to win the Ulster title.



Og Sport Hurling

Banagher put up a very impressive display to reach the final of the U-15 Og Sport Hurling Sevens in Celtic Park that year, being beaten narrowly by Slaughtneil in the final.  The Banagher squad was, Gerard Burke, Garrie Stevenson, Colin Simpson, Conal Biggs, Kevin McCullagh, Micheal O’Kane, Shane McLaughlin, Fergus McDermott, Damien Hasson and Gary Lynch.


Senior Footballers back in Division One

The senior footballers acquitted themselves well in the top division after an absence of four seasons despite a disappointing exit in the senior championship to Magherafelt in the first round 1-9 to 2-2.  Gary Biggs (1-0), David Hassan (1-0), Peter McGrellis (0-1) and Gregory Biggs (0-1) getting the Banagher scores.  Banagher put together an impressive run of league victories including a win over championship runners up Castledawson to finish comfortably mid table and out of the relegation battle.


Hurlers Knock Champions Out

The senior hurlers knocked champions Kevin Lynchs out of the championship at the quarter final stage after a superb performance from Banagher who knocked over six unanswered second half points to win 0-16 to 0-10.  Gary Biggs was in excellent form that day scoring seven points from frees and four from play.

Banagher : Mark McWilliams, Marius Coll, Martin McGrellis, Paddy O’Kane, Darren Connolly, Sean Martin Lockhart, Ryan Lynch, Damien McLaughlin, Ronan McCullagh, Mickey Cartin (0-1), Dean Lockhart (0-3), Gareth Feeney (0-1), Keith Biggs, Gary Biggs (0-11), Adrian Feeney.  Subs.  James O’Kane, Paul Cartin, David Hassan.

Banagher met Ballinascreen at the semi final stage who proved too strong for Banagher on the day.  Despite this championship defeat Banagher still managed to finish third in the senior hurling league.




Division 2 Football League Champions


The senior footballers, under manager Mickey Lynch, had a very successful season, conquering all before them in the league.  Banagher won twelve straight league games and going into the final game away to Ballerin needed only a draw to secure the league title and promotion back to the top flight.  Banagher won the game to ensure the league title, promotion and a one hundred percent winning record in the league that year, a very impressive achievement.  Finals Score : Ballerin 0-7 Banagher 0-19.  Banagher scorers that day were Gregory Biggs (0-6), Gary Biggs (0-6), Ronan McCullagh (0-2), Charlie O’Kane (0-2), Patrick O’Donnell (0-1), Eamon Feeney (0-1) and Sean Martin Lockhart (0-1).


Banagher Retain Dr Kerlin Cup


The senior footballers also made it to another Dr Kerlin Cup final thanks to victories over Limavady and Faughanvale.  In the final Banagher faced old rivals Craigbane and triumphed in a very exciting game thanks to goals in the first and last minutes from Gary Biggs and Eamon Lynch.  Final Score.  Banagher 3-7 Craigbane 1-12.

Banagher : Paul Brady, Damien O’Neill, Gregory Simpson, Damien McLaughlin, Ryan Lynch (0-1), Patrick O’Donnell, Lenny Feeney, Gregory Biggs (0-1), Ronan McCullagh (0-2), Eamon Feeney, Gary Biggs (1-2), Eamon Lynch (2-0), Sean Martin Lockhart (0-1).  Subs.  David Hassan, Kieran Stevenson.



Another Dr Kerlin Cup Final

Banagher were back in another Dr Kerlin Cup Final after beating Faughanvale, Glack and Dungiven.  The opposition were Craigbane in a repeat of the previous years final.  Banagher were chasing their tenth title, Craigbane looking for their third.  In the end a second half penalty for Craigbane was the turning point and they ran out winners on a final scoreline of Banagher 0-8 Craigbane 1-11.

Banagher : Paul Brady, Kieran Stevenson, Gregory Simpson, Damien O’Neill, Ryan Lynch, Patrick O’Donnell (0-1), Gerard McGillion, Eamon Lynch (0-1), Peter McGrellis, Damien McLaughlin, Gregory Biggs (0-1), Danny McGrellis (0-1), Gary Biggs (0-4).  Subs.  Eamon Feeney, Paul Cartin, Ronan McCullagh.


 Primary School Blitz Winners

Banagher won the North Derry Primary Schools Blitz at Limavady beating Drumsurn 3-4 to 1-1 in the final.  The player of the tournament award went to Banagher’s Mark Lynch.

 Ulster Hurling Honours

Derry U-21 Hurlers defeated Antrim in a memorable Ulster Final replay at Slaughtneil 0-22 to 0-16 after extra time.  Gary Biggs (captain), Dean Lockhart, Sean Martin Lockhart, Danny McGrellis, Kieran Stevenson and Ryan Lynch were all involved.  There was a further hurling award for Banagher when Paddy O’Kane won an Ulster Colleges Hurling All Star with St Patricks College Maghera.



All Ireland U-21 Title

Sean Martin Lockhart was a member of the victorious Derry U-21 football team who retained their Ulster title and went on to beat Meath in the All Ireland U-21 Final.

Subpages (2): 1998 1998 and 1999